Facts About Emeralds

How well do you know Emeralds???

Diamonds, Sapphires, Rubies, and Emeralds are the four popular gemstones.

Emeralds by nature are a strong gemstone but they can still be scratched or cracked. Emerald comes from the Spanish word smaragdus, which means green. Emerald was chosen as the birthstone of May to reflect its spring color.

Emeralds can range from light to dark green (Hues: yellow, brown, blue). However, those that have medium to dark tones with a high level of transparency, are considered Emeralds.

Here are five interesting facts about Emeralds:

  • The value of Emeralds is determined by the 4 C’s: Color, Clarity, Cut and Carat Weight
  • Emeralds come in various shapes including cabochon, pear, square, oval, marquise, heart and round 
  • Columbia is the largest supplier of emeralds
  • Emeralds were first known to have been mined in Egypt around 1500 BC
  • On a per carat basis, top quality emeralds can have a higher value than diamonds
  • In the United States, emeralds are traditionally given as a gift for the 20th, 35th and 55th wedding anniversary
  • An emerald and diamond necklace was given to Elizabeth Taylor by her third husband as a present while she was filming Cleopatra.

Leave a comment